Polishing

pol-ish (vb): 1: to make smooth and glossy usu. by friction : BURNISH  2: to smooth, soften, or refine in manners or condition  3: to bring to a highly developed, finished or refined state : PERFECT

I realize I’ve been remiss in blogging since the month began, but it really hasn’t been by design. I’ve been polishing my manuscript instead — and simply haven’t had the energy to do that, plus work, parent, live like a healthy, normal human and blog.  The good news is that I’ve heard back from most of the 10 agents I contacted back in June. Two requested the first 3 chapters of my novel and a synopsis, which I promptly sent off, and one requested my full manuscript…which has led me down this polishing path once again.

Depending on your definition, this will be my third or fourth draft. I’m trying so hard to plough through the edits without second-guessing myself (again) or fretting that I have no business being a writer or that it’s taking too long or that I’ll never be able to quit my day job to focus on this or the other useless chatter going on inside my head. The truth is, I want this. After this rewrite I know I will have the best possible product I can create at this point in my life — a product I will have no hesitation in sending to an agent, or in putting into print the second I’ve finished.

But first I have to get through 15 more chapters. Since late June I’ve made the first 185 pages/35K words shine, a smidgeon more than halfway through what I expect to be the total page and word count. I’ve had this hanging over my head and, frankly, I need to finish it by the end of the month or I’ll go crazy. (Or I’ll make my loved ones crazy.) So, while I’m feeling better about my polish there, bear with my dull finish here. I’m writing, even if you can’t see it yet!

 

10 thoughts on “Polishing

  1. T says:

    Well at least we know you’re alive!!!

    I’m so excited that you’re getting some well-deserved attention too.

    So, I take it… no trip to Texas? 😦

    Hang in there. Glad to see your muse is back.

  2. Um, the fact that you got so many postive responses from agents confirms that you have every business being a writer.

    I am so happy for you, Susan. Congratulations and good luck!

  3. Susan, treat it like a deadline and let it take priority for two weeks. You can do it!!! You are getting good responses from agents. Use this as fuel. Feed the finish.

  4. Susan, Good luck with that! I’m trying to get back on that horse and start riding (and writing) again. My novel’s been languishing unread (I just found out) in an inbox at Simon & Schuster for months! So frustrating. Maybe we should meet sometime and talk shop – maybe when the kids start back to school …..

  5. Thanks all for your support — and for those of you who keep reminding me to stop emailing them, or commenting on their blogs, and get back to my polishing! 🙂

    Elizabeth – You betcha. I’d love to meet up and will email you separately. You know, while I’m taking a teensie break from editing.

Leave a Reply

