Busy mom is a meanie mom

Originally uploaded by onewomanshow

I’m looking at the date as I type this – and wow, is it already the end of July? Where did the month go? If we use my rounding up strategy, we’re practically into October. Yikes!

Let’s make a deal and not round up.

Truthfully, I don’t know where our “lazy days of summer” have been hiding because last week was yet another busy one.

First, there was our annual trek to Kennywood, a local amusement park. We only stayed for a short time, but the kids experienced their first real roller coaster rides. I recall loving roller coasters as a teen, but I hadn’t been on one in probably 20 years. So, tandem jumper-cool-SusieQ was a tad surprised to find that the “tame” wooden Jack Rabbit was the one WHERE THE CAR COMES OFF THE TRACK after the grand finale double dip. Holy shit. I was worried about my kids being traumatized, but I think I need therapy after that.

Next, there was my business trip to Hotlanta and it was…hot. Okay, so I was inside air-conditioned, non-descript conference rooms most of the time, but still. I wish I could have arranged to meet up with my blogging pals in the area, but we were in and out in 2 days, getting back home at 1:30 a.m. on Wednesday morning!

The rest of the week was filled with more family togetherness than one should probably have while my sister was in town (just kidding, J.), plus two evenings with Fly-Boy.

Yes, things are going well with us…even after him witnessing my gaining 5 pounds from eating just about every type of junk food known to man since we took our flying leaps. I guess risking my life made me throw caution – and calories – to the wind.

But it was an out-of-the-ordinary visit on Saturday to The Rocking Pony’s headquarters that really got the kids talking. Karen was gracious enough to open up her home to the Burgh Moms and their families for a day in the country. The kids got to run around, eat a lot (I tried in vain to begin watching my calories again – uh, right), and even had the chance to pet and ride a miniature pony. Well, T-Rex tried riding, but he apparently inherited my equestrian skills — let’s just say I’m not exactly the horse whisperer — because he promptly fell right off. The good news is there wasn’t far to fall.

The highlight, though, was the two litters of corgi puppies on site. Lots and lots of cute, squeaky puppies.

And lots and lots of conversations ending with “No, we’re not bringing one home.”

It was tempting, but no.

6 thoughts on “Busy mom is a meanie mom

  1. Oooo… puppies! I’m sucker for puppies. But one of the advantages of having been hit over the head by that particular baseball bat many many times over the years is the ability to now say ‘No!’

    Good luck with the junk food thing. I don’t know why that happens sometimes, but when it does, it’s always a pain to get ahold of. We went on a dessert binge this weekend. Tasty, but costly, IYKWIM….

  2. T says:

    I’m glad to hear that you’re having so much fun with the kiddos and enjoying the summer even though you’re busy as…

    Awww!! Look at the cute puppies!!!

    What was I saying?

    Aren’t they so cute?

    Damn. Puppies are so distracting.

    But awww!!! Can we have one? Puh-LEEEZE!!!

  3. Aww, the jump in the tracks is what I love about the Jackrabbit! And those corgi puppies are so cute… I would have a hard time saying no.

Leave a Reply

