Practically like going to Disney World

“So, Susan, now that you’ve jumped out of an airplane, what are you going to do next?”

“Hmmm. Good question. I guess I should tell you I’m going to visit Mickey Mouse, but that’s so cliche. Why don’t we say I’m going to bust my ass at work, then take a few days off to hang with my sister and her brood, who are in from out of town, which means complete and utter family love and chaos, and then that I’ll go out of town on business for two days, all while fretting that I’m making little headway on my manuscript edits (or this blog, for that matter) — speaking of which, while I’ve gotten rejections to my query letter, I did get another request for a partial! And remember that column I’m writing? That’s due next week! No problem! No pressure, Susan, no pressure! Oh, and did I tell you I’m starting to get feeling back in my ass after 2 1/2 hours of watching The Dark Knight on Saturday? Really, it’s like Disney World, right?…” [insert Joker-like laughter] “Right?!”

“Uh, well, sure. Okay, thanks for the interview. I’m going to go –”

“Waaaaaaaaaait! Can you help me pack my suitcase?”

Mmm. I guess it’s looking to be another one of those “when it rains it pours” kind of weeks. I hope you have a good one!

PS. Thank you for your great comments on my last post and the skydiving videos. The video was made by my big strapping tandem master, who was wearing a small video camera on his left wrist in this kind of glove. Once we were back on the ground the skydiving gurus burned the video to DVD and added the songs, which I chose from a list of about 15 options, all in about 20-30 minutes. (The wait wasn’t a problem; Fly-Boy and I were practically passed out in our chairs after coming down from the adrenaline rush.) It’s a great keepsake, and I’m really pleased that I got it.

8 thoughts on “Practically like going to Disney World

  1. littlemansmom says:

    When you get a chance, take 2 secs to pop into the eye of that twister to take a breather! LOL…Busy, busy lady!

  2. A request for a partial? That sounds like a very good thing. At least it’s a start in the right direction!

    You are FREAKING AWESOME! I SOOO badly want to skydive and I love that you’ve already done it!

  3. Enjoy your time with your sister, congrats on the partial, and thanks for the explanation on the video footage – I wondered how that was done!

  4. Have fun!

    I still am so impressed with the skydiving. Thanks for explaining how the video happened. I was curious about that. Go you! I have to do that sometime.

  5. You guys are awesome. Thanks for keeping me grounded (so to speak) and a little calmer about everything going on. It’s all good…it’s just all so BUSY! 🙂

  6. Oh, Mini. I saw that link in your comment and before I even read it, I knew it was not good news. I’m so sorry to hear about your sister’s friend — my condolences to your sister, you and her friend’s family.

  7. It was his third jump of the day. the 299th of his skydiving career. I guess he had beaten the odds a long time ago. It just seems like such a stupid death. I can not get my head wrapped around it. He really was a live fast, die young, make a beautiful corpse kind of boy. i just keep thinking about his poor mother.

Leave a Reply

