So you think you can dance?

I’m not sure what I like most about Matt Harding’s dancing videos.

Is it the music?

The photography and scenery?

Feeling connected to people across the world?

How children express joy in the same way no matter where they live or what their means?

The fact I’m in good company of bad dancers?

I don’t know, but I was pleased to see he posted a new video yesterday. (I like the ’06 edition, too — and you can see his original from ’05 on his website.) You can read more about his story and world travels here.

Looks like fun, doesn’t it?

2008:


Where the Hell is Matt? (2008) from Matthew Harding on Vimeo.

From 2006:

Ah, the humanity.

5 thoughts on “So you think you can dance?

  1. Wow, thanks Susan. I didn’t know this existed. I’m not much of a viral marketer, but I’ll be passing this along. Amazing stuff and I agree it’s the universal expression of joy by the children that makes this world so small and humanity so large.

  2. Writesome: I’m so glad you like it! Someone sent me the 2006 Dancing video when it first came out; I’ve checked Matt’s website here and there since then. His journal entries and travel stories are interesting and very funny. The videos truly make me feel happy and a little overwhelmed by the good in the world — a welcome reminder when most of what we read and see is so bad.

    Cindy: I did notice the guy doing the chicken/duck dance in Poland. I also can’t help noticing EVERY TIME the poor soul who loses his footing and falls in the dancing frenzy in one of the first clips, or the dude in Paris who looks a bit like a dancing Charles Manson (although I’m sure he’s much nicer), and how energetic and coordinated the dancers are in Bhutan. Very fun, as you said!

Leave a Reply

