iPod irony

Like most days, I was listening to my iPod in the car on the way into work. (Through the car speakers, people, the speakers!) I was tired and a tad cranky from being up late working on a few projects, and then getting up early to do more work. Apparently the little computer chip in that sliver of silver picked up on my crabby/not-enough-coffee vibe because it started playing these in sequence:

  • Blue on Black – Kenny Wayne Shepherd (Depressing, sure, but I love KWS and this is one of my all-time favorites.)
  • Somewhere I Belong – Linkin Park (Sort of an accidental purchase for me — I bought the Meteora CD on impulse – pre-iPod – because I liked “Breaking the Habit.” I quickly realized that every other song involved a bunch of screaming, rapping stuff my 30-something suburban tendencies couldn’t take… but this angst-filled one grew on me.)
  • China – Tori Amos (Yet another ditty about distant, broken relationships – because you can never have too many of those, right? Tori’s voice is beautiful and haunting, but she scares me a little. I’m just saying.)
  • Damn Right, I’ve Got the Blues – Buddy Guy (The title kind of gives it away. I really like the blues, if for no other reason than the lyrics are usually easy to sing along to.)

When ABBA’s “SOS“* came on I started to laugh. I mean, how could I not? I wasn’t really in a “bad” mood when I started out, but oddly enough the songs put me in a darn good mood by the time I got to work. I guess that means both the iPod and I have a sense of humor.

*Yes, I have eclectic musical taste. And I have lots of happy songs on my iPod, too.

8 thoughts on “iPod irony

  1. Mary says:

    Too funny, Susan. I’m also very fond of Tori Amos songs – my husband calls her “Angry Tori”. Now that I think about my play list, there are a good number of “angry female” songs. Wonder what’s up with that? Thanks alot for causing me to contemplate this : ) Mary from Butler

  2. How funny. My cd player tends to do the same thing. I have an MP3 player but have yet to use it. I think too many years of being the only person who understood technology in my house finally got to me. Now, I’m happier when I’m not messin’ with some gadget or computer… give me a book and a nice comfy couch anyday!

    Anyway, what I was trying to say is that I get it. I also tend to hear the most appropriate songs depending on my mood. Its funny how that happens.

    And my tastes are pretty eclectic too. On my 300 cd player at home, you could hear Jimi Hendrix followed by monks chanting followed by LeAnne Rhimes followed by Led Zeppelin followed by Rob Thomas followed by…. well, you get the general idea. 🙂

    I hope you’re finding your mood balancing out a bit more. You should try setting a goal like, I don’t know, a 150 mile bike ride. It’ll certainly seem like an accomplishment when you do it! 😉

    Or hey, how about this? How about you write a book? Now THAT’S a GREAT idea! 🙂

  3. Hey Susan, nothing like some tunes to either reflect or change your mood. Hope you’re feeling a little more into life by now…For me a walk with music does it every time. I sort out my plot problems, character issues and finish up feeling as though I’d injested drugs. For as long as I can remember–way back into pre-teen hood that’s been the case.

    Kathie

  4. Thanks, guys. As I wrote, I really wasn’t in a low-down kind of mood, just a little crabby, you know? It was like my iPod was trying a little too hard with the ol’ reverse psychology or something, but I honestly got a kick out of it.

    Ok, I guess I’m strange. As if you didn’t know that already 😉

  5. Oh, and by the way, the work that’s been keeping me up late and getting me up early is for a good cause: to finish everything – EVERYTHING – having to do with my book, prepping for a writing conference I’m attending next week, and “auditioning” for a possible freelance blogging gig.

    So, no 150-mile bike rides here…but my mind and fingers are getting quite a work out — my determination, too. You didn’t think a few grumpy songs would do me in, now did you?!

  6. “If you’ve never heard this one, there is no hope for you. Sorry.” That made me laugh out loud.

    That is pretty weird coincidence. Glad it cheered you up though. Ooh, I just had a good idea for a meme, sort of. What’s playing on your iPod right now. I would do it, but I think I’m one of the last people alive who don’t have one. Sigh.

  7. Following along with Madame Queen’s meme — I’m firing up my iPod right now. What will the first song to appear say about me? Let’s find out…

    Hah. “Low battery. Connect to power.” Wow. That’s so accurate it’s scary.

Leave a Reply

