Resistance in my Face(book)

So I started reading The War of Art by Steven Pressfield yesterday over lunch.

Wow!

I owe those of you who recommended it a big thank you. It’s definitely the kick I need, and I’d recommend it if you feel “stuck” in how to pursue a creative project, dream job, new business venture, or even personal wellness in spirit, health and your relationships.

Of course, it’s ironic that when I started reading, I also began my own form of procrastination (defined as Resistance in the book): I decided it was time to sign up on Facebook. I’d been thinking about joining for a few months as a way to increase my blog readership, network with other writers and to reconnect with family and friends. After viewing one too many MySpace profiles that were so loud they made me want to put a spike through my head —not that yours would be obnoxious, dear readers…profiles or spikes— I decided to try this. I’ve already spent way too much time trying to set up my profile and stuff.

Yeah, resistance all right.

So now I need to get back to my synopsis. Just after I eat dinner…

7 thoughts on “Resistance in my Face(book)

  1. I love Facebook! I got on to keep track of Lovely Daughter, since she never calls. πŸ™‚ I’ll see if I can find you.

    Also, it sounds like I definitely need to get that book.

  2. Glad to see your FB status included being productive in front of the computer tonight…my guess is the synopsis is creating itself? The War of Art…somehow I’m picturing War and Peace. Is it a quick read for tired blogger moms?

  3. A Course in Miracles describes resistance in much the same way. For instance, when I attend my teacher’s study group, all that he will say makes sense to me. Absolute-perfect, angels-singing, clouds-parting sense!! Then I leave and go home and can’t remember anything…

    We tend to look “out there” for problems or distractions so we can procrastinate on the self-work that needs to be done. And boy, looking “out there” definitely provides it for us, doesn’t it?

    By the way, regarding what you said about how my words seem to help you: we always teach what we need to learn.

    Everything I say to you is stuff that I need to process too! We’re in the same boat, my friend.

    Big hugs!

  4. Tonya, that happens to me all the time–when I’m listening to a speaker and it’s all perfectly clear and then upon leaving, everything leaves me. I have to hope that somehow it all gets embedded in bodily places I can’t purposely access! That it becomes available when I need it. Nice post, Susan.

  5. Judy: Thanks! I actually have something on paper, but it needs a lot of work. That’s my project this weekend.

    Tonya and Kathie: I know EXACTLY what you mean about nodding along, thinking “I get it!” while I’m reading or listening…and then it kind of goes by the way side in practice. Like so many things in life, I guess, it’s common sense. Kathie: I also hope that the more I hear or experience something, the more it will help and become part of me. At least the good stuff I hear and experience. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

