Oh, my wet noodle!

I can’t believe this. Remember, the wet noodle who couldn’t bring himself to call me or write? The one who took like 4 weeks to basically do nothing? Well, I just got off the phone with him. He had called my cell just now to introduce himself (6 weeks after this started…I had to think hard to associate his name with who he was), to see how my holidays went (even though I don’t know him) and to “find out if there was someone attached to this number.”

What a goober.

After awkward chit-chat for 2 minutes, mostly him blabbing, I interjected, “You know, since so much time went by between when you last contacted me and now, I’m not really interested in pursuing anything.” WITH A GOOBER.

He thanked me for being forthright, we wished each other a happy new year and that was that. What a FREAKIN’ goober. (And let me tell ya, I’m swearin’ in my head. Oh, yeah.)

On the brighter side, after dates with 2 “no chemistry” dudes, there are 2 or 3 other people I’m emailing/chatting with before I go “offline” — which will be very soon. There’s only so much one (or I) can take of the online deal. I’ll write more later about how the experience rounds out. In the meantime, I will go download me some Kid Rock, as Writesome suggested in the comments to my last post. And even working in PowerPoint (as I wrote about in my response to the comments in my last post) would be better than a date with the guy who just called. Sheesh.

14 thoughts on “Oh, my wet noodle!

  1. Good for you for being so upfront with him…what a dork! (and kudos to you for using “goober” when there are so many other curse words that might have been a better fit lol) Can’t wait to hear about your continued adventures online!

  2. Lani says:

    Good Lawd! (Not cussing) What is HE thinking? I thought that stuff stopped happening in…oh….6th grade! I think he will forget you blew him off, find your cell number written down somewhere and call again.

    When he does…blast Kid Rock in his ear! “BABABABADANGIDANGDANGDIGGYDIGGY!”

  3. I love the word goober. It’s so appropriate sometimes. I can’t believe he contacted you after all this time. Only a man would think that’s okay. What a goober. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Goober…I love that word. And mainly because it reminds me of Goober from The Andy Griffith Show. Do you think that’s where the term originated from?

  5. I believe that “goober” is a southern slang expression for “peanut.” Hence the name for the chocolate-coated peanut candy that nobody buys at the movie theater.

  6. Good for you for giving the poor slob the heave-ho before you wasted any real time with him. He’s probably the kind of guy who suspects women go out with him to get free dinners.

  7. Thanks everyone for verifying this man’s goober status and my sanity. Bob, I will always trust you when it comes to awful peanut-shaped or peanut-related products. I mean, I didn’t know what circus peanuts were until you told me that on one of my Halloween related posts!

  8. Oh, and Terry…I have a feeling this guy might pull the ol’ “let’s split it” when the bill comes. Which would be okay, seeing that I’d probably pay for him and his entire family just to get out of there fast.

  9. LexIcon: thanks for your offer, but I’m not sure you’d want to waste your time on him. He’s 45, waited 4-5 weeks to call me and then blamed his lateness on “being busy with the holidays and all.” Mmmm. However, you may have a point that this kind of stuff doesn’t come easy to him. If I talk to him again, which I hope I don’t, I’ll send him your way…after I’m done with some serious eye rolling at hearing his voice ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. That’s so funny! Glad someone else is up to their ears in online dating prospects. I opened up my profile for 24 hours…what a difference a day makes. Even had the guy who blocked me before contact me again. As an experiment in self discovery and out of simple curiosity, I bit this time and called at his request…he’s definitely into fun and frolic just as he said, but it won’t be happening with me…I don’t think Goober describes this guy, more of an Eager Noodle actually.

Leave a Reply

