Happy 2008!

Happy New Year! I hope you had a terrific holiday season because 2008 promises to be a busy, fulfilling year. Here’s a glimpse at what we’re planning…

T-Rex’s Wish for 2008

“To turn into all of the Pokemon.”

T-Rex’s New Year’s Resolution

“To turn into all of the Pokemon.”

pikachu

Drama Girl’s Wish for 2008

“That every song I like can already be on my Mp3 player.”

Drama Girl’s New Year’s Resolution

“To be more active and eat healthier stuff.”

more active or just bad spandex?

Susan’s Wish for 2008

“That we humans could learn to co-exist peacefully, with respect for our similarities and differences.

“I also wish for happiness and health for all of my family and friends, my faithful readers and even those family, friends and readers who pretend to frequently check my blog.

“A book deal for me would be real swell, too. Can I wish for that?

“Finally, I wish the 2008 Presidential elections, the Iraqi War, our obsession with celebrities who are Size Minus Two and/or don’t have any talent, acne after the age of 18, helicopter parenting techniques, the breast vs. bottle and working vs. stay-at-home mom debates, pharmaceutical commercials, and lame reality shows, especially The Bachelor, would just be over.”

peace and love

Susan’s New Year’s Resolutions (in no particular order)

1. Don’t swear at other drivers even if they deserve it.

2. Don’t swear, period. Or at least out of everyone else’s earshot, including my boss’.

3. Be more active and eat healthier stuff. (Hey, if it’s good enough for my daughter…) I’d like to get back in shape and STAY back in shape this time – everyone needs a “stretch goal,” right? (pun intended)

4. Perform random acts of kindness.

Disclaimer: I do fancy myself to be a kind, caring person already, but I like the random acts of kindness idea. I’m a believer in karma… plus I can’t help but think an act of kindness might turn out like in that car commercial where the lady at the drive-thru cleaners pays for the cute guy’s dry cleaning in the car behind her and sparks fly. Except I don’t go to a drive-thru dry cleaner. And I don’t know if sparks flew, it was just a commercial. But still.

5. Get a literary agent interested in the novel I’ve finished. Alternatively, I promise to exhaust my list of possible agents and if I end up self-publishing my book instead, I’ll be okay with it.

6. Write my next novel.

7. Play my piano at least once a quarter. Four times a year doesn’t seem too hard, but my piano has been silent for many months. Looks nice, though.

8. Get more sleep. Ha.

9. Have fun with my resolutions, like by signing up for the Big, Fun Scary Adventure Challenge (summarized at My Brilliant Mistakes or go directly to the NaNoWriMo site). Go for it!

10. Don’t stress about making every blog post perfect. Or reaching an even number on my lists.

How about you? What’s on your list of wishes and resolutions?

Here’s to a great 2008!

(click to enlarge and then zoom to read the captions / NOTE: WordPress is screwing around with this link; sometimes it works — like now as I type this — then it disappears — this is testing my NO SWEARING RESOLUTION!!)

Happy 2008!

 

13 thoughts on “Happy 2008!

  1. My first time at your site. Found you through Pittsburgh Bloggers. Love your list. It sounds very much like mine, down to getting my novel published. I’ve written a Young Adult novel, which is now being read at Scholastic (and I’m terrified!). if they decide to pass on it, then I’ll be looking around for an agent myself. Fun, fun, fun.

    What’s your novel about? Happy New Year, Elizabeth

  2. KimG says:

    Susan,
    You’ve finally got me to to break down and answer a blog. From a former computer programmer that despises some forms of technology, this is a big step. Congratulations on everything! Hopefully you’ll get a contract in 2008. We’re finally opening the storage facility in 2008. So if that can happen miracles are not impossible and go after all of your dreams.
    KimG

  3. Lani says:

    Susan, my love! At my work we call swearing “team building” and I am the BOSS! Yet, if you would truly like to stop swearing, YOU GO GIRL! All good things will come your way.

    Happy New Year!

  4. Hey, guys: here’s to swearing – or not, new experiences like visiting Susan’s blog (welcome, Elizabeth, heya KimG…gotcha!), good friends and new adventures in ’08. Oh, and extra credit to Bob and all those who are smart enough to shower me with compliments. 😉 (thanks!)

  5. Jenn: No swearing within anyone else’s earshot. Under my breath or here as I sit by myself, no problem. It’s the old “if a tree falls in the forest and no one’s around, does it really make a sound”?!

Leave a Reply

