It’s all about me

Cindy over at My Brilliant Mistakes recently tagged me for a blogger’s list-meme, so I wanted to delight her – and you – with eight random facts about me. It will also make up for the fact I haven’t blogged in a few days.

Here are the rules:

(The rules are more interesting if you imagine a voiceover by the fast-talking guy who reads the financing disclosure at the end of a car commercial.)

  1. We have to post these rules before we give you the facts.
  2. Players start with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
  3. People who are tagged need to write their own blog about their eight things and post these rules.
  4. At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names.
  5. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

So…here are eight random facts about me:

1. I took piano lessons for 9 years during my youth. I think I was a decent player, but I wasn’t disciplined about practicing. Two years ago I decided to give playing another try and bought a piano. I’ve played it, oh, maybe 9 times since I’ve owned it. I guess I never outgrew that discipline thing.

2. I was the drum major in our high school marching band. I did not do back-flips off of the podium. That would have been unladylike in my brown polyester skirt. Besides, I wanted to live to see graduation.

3. My ideal partner would be a Talk Soup (now, “The Soup“) host — smart, cute in his boyish charm/impish grin kind of way, and very funny — combined with Bill Gates. Yes, Bill. Sure, his money and success are nice, but it’s the fact he wants to give away all of his money to charity that I personally find kind of hot. (Did I use Bill Gates and “hot” together?) Ok, it’s certainly attractive to me. Warren Buffet’s another one, but, frankly, he’s a little too old.

4. Right now a great vacation would be a week alone with a pile of good books to read and no schedule to follow. A serene outdoor setting, plus a ready supply of Caramel Frappaccinos and dark chocolate, would make it ideal.

5. Watching America’s Funniest Home Videos drives me into an insane rage. It takes only 3 seconds for me to begin yelling at the TV, “Yeah, right, that was REAL FUNNY when the concrete block dropped on that guy’s foot! Yeah, funny — HA, HA, HA!” It’s just that I don’t see anything funny about it.

6. My parents force-fed me Olive Loaf when I was a child. No, I’m kidding…they didn’t force-feed anything to me, but Olive Loaf was apparently one of the only things I would eat for nearly a year. Consuming large quantities of processed meat and pimento-stuffed olives explains a lot about me.

7. One of my favorite college courses was Primate Social Behavior. For 30 seconds I thought I could be the next Jane Goodall. But then I decided I liked to shower regularly and that living with chimps wasn’t really my thing. Nevertheless, it was enormously helpful in preparing me for working in Corporate America (and riding public transportation early in my career), becoming a parent and dating.

8. I’m not a “rebel” in the traditional sense, but I don’t always follow the rules… which is why I am choosing to ignore rules 4 and 5 for now. Self-awareness and liberation made me this way!

So, here are a few bonus facts to make up for #8:

9. My children and I are all Virgos. You’d think we’d all cheerfully put away our clothes and straighten up the house without complaint each night, but we don’t. That being said, in general, our house is organized and habitable. This week, we enter our combined three-week Birthday Bonanza celebration!

10. I prefer to drink my coffee black (unless it’s the really bad stuff in our office – but at least that’s free). The best coffee I ever had was at a place in Lansing, MI near MSU (that other large university). Unless there was something other than coffee beans in my brew, I seem to recall the place had tubas and other instruments hanging on the walls and from the ceiling. (LB, help me out here, you know the place.) The coffee I drank, Kenyan I think, was heavenly. Only a delicious chocolate treat to go with it could have made it better.

11. Some of the things I’d like to do one day, for no one else but me: volunteer for the American Red Cross, act in a play, take voice (singing) lessons, paint a floor cloth, go white-water rafting again, do a tandem-jump (maybe), learn how to tile my backsplash, publish my first novel, write my second novel…

12. Overall, I’m happy with myself and my life, and that’s a good place to be. Things aren’t perfect or always go as planned or at the pace I think they should, but I’d like to think it’s all where it needs to be right now.

7 thoughts on “It’s all about me

  1. It is all about you, Susan.

    I played piano as a kid too! And now I have a piano again, and I practiced for about a week to try to restore my old mediocre ability, and now it’s a large, pretty, and silent piece of furniture-sculpture in my living room. I knew we had much in common.

    I can’t stand olive loaf though.

  2. I also was tagged with this one. My entry coming up later this week, although I may opt out of rules 4 & 5 as well. I suppose I could tag Marathon Man, that’d be one of my 8.

    Band geeks rule.

  3. I’m sooooo with you on #5. How could this show have possibly gone on for so many years? I cringe everytime I flip through the channels and see that this show is on.

    Oooh – so you have a birthday coming up? Do tell…

  4. Sophie says:

    #6: Olive Loooooaf… yea, I haven’t thought about olive loaf in a long time. I just might have to pick some up at the store soon. With spam. Don’t laugh; it’s good!

    #7: Hee, hee, hee!

  5. Cindy and Sophie: no one should think about olive loaf. Or probably eat it, for that matter, at least in the quantities I did. Sophie, promise me you’ll go easy on it. Glad you both could also appreciate some of the other points! (I’ll post a photo of my piano-furniture-sculpture piece at some point.)

    Lulu – thank goodness I’m not the only one to cringe watching that show (THAT show). I don’t seek it out, but sometimes I accidentally find it while flipping through the channels. Syndication and “time away” from each other has not lessened my hate for it. It just makes me question the appeal and intellect of whoever is watching it (no offense if anyone here does). I’m not usually like that, although The Bachelor makes me want to yell at those silly girls for putting themselves through that.

    Bob, of course band geeks rule. Who doesn’t know that?

    And finally, yes, Ms. Lulu…I enter the last year of my 30’s in a few days. Chris Tucker, Buddy Hackett and Richard Gere share my birthday, and the anniversary of a beloved princess’ death falls on that date, too. I prefer to think of happy things like the comedians and the Dalai Lama instead.

  6. Jen says:

    You forgot to mention that your first word was “meat”. Probably from all that olive loaf you ate! I’m sorry but I couldn’t resist 🙂

Leave a Reply

