Beauty and a Beast named PhotoShop

I want to thank Sophie, Lulu and Kathie for recently sharing their thoughts about this country’s obsession with beauty – beauty defined by other people and “enhanced” by technology. Too many of us, me included, have suffered from having a distorted view of what makes us beautiful and/or successful, wishing to be or look like anyone but ourselves. It’s upsetting to think that this is what our kids are walking into. I mean, I can tell my daughter that she’s special and perfect just the way she is until I’m blue in the face, but she’s already faced girls no older than 8 or 9 picking on her and others because they aren’t rich enough, don’t wear the right clothes, their hair isn’t as long or pretty, etc., etc. And already the crazy, skinny-pants fashions for size 2 women with no rear-ends are being skinnied down further for girls under the age of 10. It’s too much – or too little – too soon.

Don’t get me wrong: I still to want to lose weight, I still treated myself to a manicure and pedicure today (forced to watch America’s Next Top Model on the TV there, ironically enough), and I aim to get back in shape. These days, though, I want to do it to feel good as much as it is to look good. (And don’t even get me started on society’s assumption that I’m single and only want to look or feel good in order to get a man! Oh, no. Let’s not go there.) I don’t have any great pearls of wisdom to offer, but I encourage you to check out this video and this magazine cover (be sure to view the annotated breakdown) and this company’s portfolio, which my fellow bloggers uncovered for me. They’re eye-opening examples to share with those who need some help keeping the faith (no pun intended) — and perspective — about being special and perfect.

4 thoughts on “Beauty and a Beast named PhotoShop

  1. sarah says:

    yeah, it doesn’t make sense — this compulsion to look “beautiful”. i struggle with it, too. and i even have some of the genes that are supposedly desired! it’s like i need to prove to the other people (whoever they are) that i’m sexy and pretty. as if their opinion matters. as if the determination that i’m pretty and/or sexy really means something.

    i feel like my ego needs it. but i don’t. silly ego.

    honestly, the people i most want to be with (and the person i most want to be) are those who are the least self-conscious, those who are most in the moment with their inner light shining through.

    how’s that for a blither blather comment? πŸ™‚

  2. Sophie says:

    Very glad that you liked the post. Once I read Lulu’s post, I just couldn’t keep my big mouth shut (so to speak). I love the link to jezebel about the Redbook cover with Faith Hill.

    And I’m with Sarah above; internally I’m always struggling with this issue, it seems.

  3. The Redbook magazine cover is just crazy. Faith Hill is a beautiful woman, and yet they had to create an image of her that is a lie. Who’s to know what is real and what is a lie in print anymore? I wonder if women like Faith have the same issues that us “regular” women have?

  4. Jen says:

    You know it’s bad when your 5 year old daughter says to you “Mommy, I don’t want to have a fat body, I want a skinny body.” It made me want to cry when she said that to me. But then I stopped to think about my own body issues that have consumed a big part of my life. Did I pass that on to her? God I hope not! I guess all we can do in life is to try to accept and love ourselves for who we are and to pass that wisdom on to our children. And to lock them in their rooms with no access to tv, magazines and the internet until they are 50. LOL!!! Just kidding πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

