Embarrassing Dating Tales III: Dwight was Right

Alas, here we are for the final installment of Embarrassing Dating Tales of Susan’s Past. This episode, the last one I dare to share with you, took place last year. It combines the two things I’d rather talk about than actually do: going on a date and going to the gym. And, as a tribute to my last post, see if you can identify the ’80’s tie-in!

I had been going to the gym for several months and noticed an attractive gentleman who behaved politely – and watched sports and the news on TV like normal men – and seemed to notice me. We’ll call him Larry. Maybe Larry’s attention was all in my head, but I swore he was checking me out on many occasions. Granted, it may have been because I was the biggest spaz in the various aerobics classes I took (and have since given up), but I’d like to think he kinda liked me. Even if it was out of pity.

Let me stop for a moment and explain that I don’t get all dolled up to workout, or wear anything revealing, so that is not why Larry was looking at me. I usually wear the gym-issued gray, unisex, stretched out T-shirts and only recently decided to bring my own shorts because the ones at the gym have turned a washed-out, peachy-pink color and are getting holes from the bleaching. Even I have my limits.

Again, Larry’s looks may have been out of pity.

Nonetheless, me being in a newly confident-go get ’em-finding my inner spirit-bumbling through life with gusto-stage, decided to inquire about him and his situation – i.e., was he single? I was somewhat acquainted with his friend, a pleasant man and fellow employee I’ll call Darryl. I decided that I was too demure to ask Darryl outright, so I wrote him an email instead, inquiring about Larry and proclaiming I never do this kind of thing.

The problem is I sent the email to the wrong Darryl.

The Darryl I sent the email to has a last name starting with the same letter as Darryl-1. I had worked with Darryl-2 on a project once, years ago, and until that fateful click of “Send” hadn’t thought of him since. Within seconds I realized my blunder and tried to recall the message. It should come as no surprise to learn that Message Recall NEVER WORKS WHEN YOU WANT IT TO.

Darryl-2 was kind to me and wrote back that he wished he could help me out [Crazy Lady] but he was the wrong person [You Idiot] and did I mean to send this [Embarrassing] message to Darryl-1?

Busted. Maybe these mix-ups happened to meek, mild Darryl-2 often?

I responded that I had indeed made a mistake and thanked him for being a good sport. I told him I was embarrassed, but had to laugh at the absurdity of it all. Honestly, I did laugh – a lot. How could I not? Darryl-2 replied back with a short message and this quote:

“A sense of humor is part of the art of leadership, of getting along with people, of getting things done” Dwight D. Eisenhower

It is a quote I think we could all live by… at least that’s what I’m trying to do. And you can’t say I’m without insurance: a sense of humor is a good thing to offer yourself and a partner.

For the record, I did tell Darryl-1 the story. We had a good laugh over it. I told him I didn’t care if he told Larry, but he swore he wouldn’t. I think he did tell him because to this day I swear there is a twinkle in Larry’s eyes when we exchange smiles and hello’s.

Oh, and Darryl-1 confirmed Larry was married. I was two years too late. Figures.

You can feel even better about yourself by reading more Embarrassing Dating Tales here: Part I -Mothballs and Me and Part II – The Damaging ’80’s.

4 thoughts on “Embarrassing Dating Tales III: Dwight was Right

  1. Oh. My. God.

    That is frickin’ hilarious!!

    Although I often regress and use internet speak like “LOL”, when creativity escapes me, this was an honest LOL moment. Probably because this story resonates with all the proud flakes of the world. God knows, I’ve had my share of embarrassing moments.

    Great story!

  2. Bob, yes, you got it right! The references were from the Newhart TV show, and the link I had at the end was to an episode from Newhart in which L, D and D were introducing their wives from Long Island (or maybe it was Brooklyn? very New Yawk-ish). Amazing what you can find on the web when you type in “Larry, Darryl and Darryl”, but it looks like YouTube took it down…

Leave a Reply

