My Trip to the Zoo

And I don’t mean work.

On Sunday I took the kids on what is turning out to be my annual excursion to the Pittsburgh Zoo and PPG Aquarium. (The Ex takes them at least once or twice a year, too.) It’s a rather nice zoo, in my opinion, and not so big that halfway through you want to throw yourself to the lions because you’re tired, it’s 85 degrees and humid, your kids are whining that their feet hurt, and you just shelled out $50 on ice cream for everyone.

Bear Butt

This zoo is just right, and Sunday was perfect weather-wise. We were there to see the grand opening of the new Water’s Edge exhibit with the polar bear twins and two sea otters.

And, please, don’t get all upset about animals beingI’m the King taken out of the wild and put on display. Do you really think it’s that bad? I mean, they look healthy and seem content laying in the sun, being adored. They’re fed, they get to hang out and do nothing all day unless they want to swipe at a ball or something, and the zoo keepers seem pleasant and even-tempered…even though they have to wipe these animals’ asses. Literally.

It doesn’t seem so bad, really; I’m kind of envious.

Polar Bear and Me

Here are a few more photos of the animals we saw on ourMom and Child trip…

Dinos

(Just wanted to see if you were paying attention.)

And here’s my favorite…wildebeests catching some zzz’s (or flies) after a long day:

Wildebeasts

5 thoughts on “My Trip to the Zoo

  1. Susan!

    We were at the zoo at the same time, and managed to not run into one another… Not that I’m surprised, mind you. I was too busy lamenting the fact that I saw not a single, solitary giraffe the whole time! Glad you enjoyed it! I did too. It’s a nice family outing.

    Have a great holiday!

    Dawn

  2. Come to think of it, we didn’t see a giraffe either…but I was too busy rushing us through the monkey house so I could buy Drama Girl a lemonade at the vending stand to make her quit whining!

Leave a Reply

