He’s not a bad guy. Really.

I wanted to clarify my comment from the Flaw-O-Matic post about the guy who asked me about my bra size during an online dating exchange. I don’t want you to get the wrong idea about him. I’m sure he’s a nice guy, just misunderstood. If I recall, our exchange went something like this:

Guy: “You’re great; I’m great; blah, blah, blah…Go on, tell me the one thing you’d never tell someone on a date…even if it’s your bra size. Ha ha ha!” [Insert Beavis and Butthead laugh here.]

Susan, aka LGIT: “The one thing I’d never tell someone on a date? Hmmm. That would probably be my bra size. Better luck next time.” You’ll need it, asshole.

Yes, Judy. I do have stories! That’s why I could turn them into a novel and a blog. Thanks for linking your readers to them. (You, too, Cindy.)

By the way, I heard this quirky, catchy song on the radio the other day and loved it. I downloaded it from iTunes as soon as I could get to my PC.

“Someone To Love” – Fountains of Wayne

Seth Shapiro got his law degree
He moved to Brooklyn from Schenectady, ’93
Got some clients in the food industry
He says it’s not the money, it’s the recipes

He calls his mom, says he’s doing fine
She’s got somebody on the other line
Puts Coldplay on, pours a glass of wine
Curls up with a book about organized crime

When it’s late, and it’s hot
And a date with the Late Show’s all that you’ve got
Don’t give out, don’t give up
One of these nights you might find someone to love

Beth McKenzie got the job of her dreams
Retouching photos for a magazine aimed at teens
It’s Thursday night she should be out on the scene

But she’s sitting at home watching “The King of Queens”

There’s something wrong that she can’t describe
She takes the contacts out of her eyes
Sets the alarm for 6:45
So she can get a little exercise

When it’s late, and it’s hot
And an hour in the shower is the best that you’ve got
Don’t give out, don’t give up
One of these nights you might find someone to love

And you’re not the only one who’s lonely

Seth Shapiro is trying in vain
To hail a taxi in the morning in the pouring rain
Beth McKenzie sees one just up ahead
She cuts in front of him and leaves him for dead

4 thoughts on “He’s not a bad guy. Really.

  1. curt says:

    fountains of wayne! what local radio station actually played a song of theirs? my bet is wyep, because it sure as hell wasn’t ‘dve or “the x”.

    yep, their new release is great stuff. since your from nj and you have an aforementioned penchant for useless celebrity trivia, their name comes from an actual store that, yes, sells fountains and is, yes, located in wayne, nj.

    there, another item with which to impress your friends. you’re welcome.

    anyhoo, I’ve enjoyed reading your blog thus far — especially since you and I have commisserated more than once on the 30-something dating pool and it’s lack of depth, so to speak. (though, I have no complaints now!)

    speaking of which — this guy mentioning bra size in his initial contact — very poor choice of subject. I’m all for a good joke and perhaps that’s what he intended, but what do they say about first impressions?

    keep writing — and I’ll keep reading.

  2. Curt, thanks for the trivia – I know Wayne, NJ. I used to shop there on occasion (rte 46, I think?) but not at the fountain store. I knew the band was based in the NY area, so it all makes sense now…sort of. The station is/was indeed wyep (www.wyep.org), “where the music matters.”

    As for Bra Guy, yes, I realize it may have been – and probably was – a lame joke attempt. (I do have a sense of humor, after all.) But, kids, a word to the wise: don’t try that at home on your email! It could be interpreted the wrong way. Glad you’re enjoying the blog and that you’ll keep reading because I know where you live.

Leave a Reply

