How does your Flaw-O-Matic meter read?

In my post yesterday about speed dating, I meant to link to an article Sarah sent to me. Published in the NY Times earlier this week, John Tierney explains the Flaw-O-Matic theory of romantic revulsion in online dating and speed dating.

ABSTRACT. In this meta-analysis of online dating and speed dating, we propose a corollary to the Flaw-O-Matic theory of romantic revulsion. Current research reveals that the Flaw-O-Matic, a mechanism in the brain that instantly finds fault with any potential mate, can be reoriented positively in certain conditions through a newly identified process, the Sally Field Effect.

John writes about the scientific and non-scientific studies to support the theories. (See, we singletons might as well be a bunch of experimental mice. Bring on the safari hats and binoculars, too.)

What sends my Flaw-O-Matic Meter Reader into overdrive? Bad teeth, guys with nails longer than mine, guys who are shorter than me (sorry, I’m taller than the average American woman and the average Miss America!), weird smells, leering stares, questions about how to invest their 401(k), guys who don’t ask questions about me, or, worse, don’t listen to my answers. The Flaw-O-Matic red alert: a guy who asks about my bra size as an ice breaker. Yeah, someone asked me that once in an online exchange…after the “You had me at hello” part. Oy vey.

I’m not expecting perfection, but hell yeah I have standards. I still say that speed dating is a great way to meet a lot of people and to see if you click (or could possibly click) with someone. It’s good I feel this way because now I have a credit to use up in 6 months at a future speed dating event. Double oy.

What do you think? What would overheat your Flaw-O-Matic Meter Reader? (If you’re with someone, I won’t tell…it can be purely hypothetical.)

Thanks for the link, Sarah!

2 thoughts on “How does your Flaw-O-Matic meter read?

  1. Susan, I can’t believe someone actually asked your bra size. Did he really think he would get to step two with such interrogation? Some of these guys are unbelievable! I love your stories!

    By the way, Susan, I linked to your blog, so we can find each other easily now! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

