Inspired by the Season

Today has been one of those days – a day of questions. No, not the deep, spiritual, thoughtful kind that the Easter season inspires in most people. No, I’m talking about those inspired by the experiences of Good Mama/Bad Mama like:

  • Who thought giving kids a bunch of hard boiled eggs to drop into plastic cups filled with dye was a good idea?
  • Why is it 30 degrees and snowing this weekend when it was 80 degrees a few days ago while I was at work? (Related question: Is Mother Nature laughing at us right now?)
  • Why is it that the only thing my kids want to do inside (while it is 30 and snowing outside) is to shriek at the top of their lungs and catapult themselves off the sofa?
  • Will anyone notice that I finished the 2 large bags of pastel M&Ms before Easter?
  • Why did I throw out my son’s egg drawing…only to have him discover it in the garbage and burst into tears? (Related note: Now the drawing is on the fridge. Don’t worry, it was on the top of the garbage  – like George Castanza’s eclair.)
  • How did I become the crazy mother in Target a few hours ago threatening her children: “If you don’t stop that, I’ll tell the Easter Bunny to stay home”?

Okay, so the threat of no Easter Bunny isn’t quite on par with “no Santa Claus,” but it quieted T-Rex and Drama Girl down in the store…for about 5 minutes.

Now we’re all winding down for the evening and conserving energy for tomorrow. I still need to make a cheesecake, and hopefully can work on my novel a bit before I gather the chocolate and goodies to fill the baskets.

The question is: If Easter Bunny finishes off a few more Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs before they make it into the baskets, does that mean the calories don’t count?

Forget it. I know the answer. Happy Easter and Passover.

7 thoughts on “Inspired by the Season

  1. Jen says:

    I’m right with you…I just finished off a bag of peanut m&m’s this morning. I like to think that the calories don’t count. Wouldn’t that be nice!!! LOL! I also had to use the threat of no easter bunny visit just 2 hours ago with little Miss L. It seemed to work but you know how stubborn she is. 🙂 Any ways, Happy Easter! I’m sure I will talk to you tomorrow.

    Love ya!

  2. CAS says:

    Thanks for introducing me to the world of Blogs. Your gift of gab and comic relief will be something to look forward to! After surviving Easter preparations (fillng 160 eggs for the Easter egg hunt, preparing dinner and entertaining ages 3 to 80+) it was great to read your blog. Keep up the good work!

  3. Jill says:

    I love your blog! I can’t wait to read more. My advice – use the Easter Bunny & Santa threat as long as you can. Mine are too old now to use it and I miss the leverage that I used to have. Also, I’ve had the tears from my kids after they’ve discovered their “art” in the garbage. I now wait a week before throwing anything out (lest they ask where it is), and then I hide it deep under the recycled papers.

  4. Susan, this is hilarious…I’ll stop back and read the other posts as well as link to you later…sorry it’s taking me so long. But I threw out the old “the Easter bunny will hop right by our house if you don’t…” a few times in the last week. It’s humiliating to go there, but so so so easy. Congrats on the site.

  5. Jen, Cindy, CA, Kathie and Jill, thanks for stopping over and reassuring me that the candy really was calorie-free, and that throwing away T-Rex’s “artwork” and tossing around idle threats hasn’t earned me Bad Mama of the Year. Yet.

  6. Morgan says:

    I love the names you gave your kids!!! I would suggest that if you want to throw any of your kids art away, take it to work with you and they will never know. Good luck and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

