I’m Too Sexy for My Shirt…

One of the things my married friends like to talk to me about is dating – my dating. It’s a way for them to experience the joy and wonder of it again without actually having to slog through it…kind of like watching a reality TV show – Vh1’s The Surreal Life comes to mind. In particular, online dating is one of their favorite subjects to discuss with me.

Now, I’ve done 4 tours of online dating on various web sites. I remember when I first told friends and family I was going to try it, they all smiled encouragingly, but they couldn’t quite mask the horrified “thank god I don’t have to do that” look in their eyes. Even a handful questioned whether I would be better off by joining this perceived land of misfits. My response: “those people” on “those sites” were just like us: looking for honest relationships and, ultimately, the perfect match and true love. It turns out I was right, for the most part, although there are a few looking for something a little less “formal,” too. (There are sites dedicated to just that — or so I hear!)

“Oh, yes,” I would say. “The folks doing online dating are no different than you or me.” Until now.

Now we have HotEnough.org.

As if we common daters didn’t have enough to worry about – paying bills, hiding belly bulges, etc. – and we didn’t learn the hard lessons of social class from our high school years, now we will understand that there is a different class of dating prospects, none of whom we will ever get to look at, talk to or touch. Hot Enough explains it like this:

Attractive, fit singles like you deserve an above average dating pool and the leading online dating sites just don’t meet that standard. Online dating sites are a great way to meet that future soul mate – much better than trying to make a connection at a bar or club. Yet, on most leading dating sites, it simply takes too long to sift through the swarm of photos, e-mails, and teases to find a compatible match. That’s where HotEnough.org comes in…”

Okay, so I looked as much as I could without having to subject myself to the “screening and voting process” and before I began to sob about my own inadequate body. They are beautiful people, no doubt. Average age, maybe 24. Ripped abs, big biceps, big…whatever. Maybe it’s the Calvin Klein underwear approach to the photos, but, um, none of them actually look like they’re looking for a soul mate. They kind of look like they’re looking to hit the bar – or to star in their own reality TV show.

I hear Flavor Flav is available for guest appearances.

What do you think – are you hot enough?

 

9 thoughts on “I’m Too Sexy for My Shirt…

  1. Sarah says:

    Well, let them “above average” people have each other. I am certain that my flippant attitude ensures my hotness. In fact, I think Paris Hilton is calling me on my cell, now. I best get that! It’s Friday night and I’m not wearing any underwear.

    (i’m sorry it’s rather late… i’m liable to write anything at this unforsaken hour)

  2. The last time the word “hot” was used in the same sentence as my name was definitely last summer on the beach in Florida at 90 degrees.

    “Dad, do you think mom’s okay?” son says.

    “I think she’s just hot, son,” says Dad.

    Fun post, Susan! Good luck with the new blog!

  3. Sarah and Judy, thanks for stopping by and your comments. I had to laugh, Judy, at the context of your hotness. Sarah, I agree that us refusing to acknowledge those that are “hot enough” may be a strategy to raise our own quotient. We’ll talk about the underwear thing offline.

  4. Cindy, honey, you are my new best friend — so smart, too! Sarah, that is a great article; thanks for the link. It is especially timely because I will also be covering speed-dating in a 2 part post beginning tomorrow. I’ll add the link, too.

Leave a Reply

